Board of Directors



Marcine Forrette, MBA, BSMT (ASCP)

Marcine graduated from the University of Minnesota with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Medical Technology and received a Masters Degree in Business Administration from the University of Sioux Falls. Her career in Healthcare has included experience in Laboratory management, Patient Financial Services management, Corporate Compliance, Employee Health and Safety, as well as delivery of direct patient care. Her employment experience has been in both clinic and hospital settings and engagement with healthcare professionals at all levels. She is employed by Sanford Health in the Information Technology department as the Manager of the Laboratory Applications Team. She has found working in Healthcare Information Technology to be the most exciting and engaging, offering countless opportunities for learning and growth, and most rewarding career move. Professional memberships include the American Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP) and Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS).



Brenda Soper

Brenda Soper has 25 years’ experience as a Registered Nurse in a variety of clinical practices which include Medical/ Surgical, Obstetrics, Pediatrics, Neonatal Intensive Care and Home Health Care. Eventually her career led her into Healthcare Informatics as a Clinical Informaticist and CPOM Analyst with skills in collaboration, initiative and leadership. She currently is employed as a Director of Clinical Regulatory Compliance with a focus on Meaningful Use and eMeasures. In this role she leads the Avera hospitals in regulation interpretation, coordination with Information Technology and assists with attestation. She has worked at Avera Health 16 years of her 25-year career. Brenda obtained her Bachelor of Nursing Degree from South Dakota State University and her Clinical Nurse Leader Master’s Degree from Augustana College.



Michelle Walter

Michelle graduated from the University of South Dakota with a Bachelors Degree in Business and completed her Masters Degree in Business Administration from the University of Sioux Falls. She has over 25 years of experience in leadership and people management, specializing in Human Resources, Leadership Development and Employee Engagement. She has worked for Avera for the past 13 years and is currently the Director of IT Engagement and Operational Readiness. In this position, Michelle is responsible for providing overall guidance and support to developing a culture of operational excellence, service excellence and learning within the information technology department. Michelle is a Senior Certified Professional in HR and is active in SDHIMSS, SHRM, ASTD, ASHHRA and SDAHO.



Holly Arends

Holly has 22 years experience in both administrative and patient care aspects of healthcare. She has specialized expertise in  Health Information Technology, Quality Management, and Leadership. Holly currently is CEO of Quality Consulting, LLC which is contracted with the Great Plains Quality Innovation Network as Program Manager, The State of South Dakota Public Health Laboratory as  Project Manager, and a critical assess hospital as Quality Director. Holly has built her professional skill set as a  Human Clinical Trials Research Specialist, Director of Quality and Risk Management, HIM Director, Director of Laboratory Services, Utilization Management Coordinator, and has assisted large and small organizations to implement and optimize health information technology as Clinical Program Manager.  Holly is a subject matter expert in her field provide public speaking to statewide associations and conferences- SDHIMA, SDAHO, SDHIMSS, SDMGMA, SDHealthLink Forum, SDHFMA, and SDAHQ


Communications Director

Kristi Jones, ATC, PTA

Kristi Jones, Business Intelligence Manager of Systems Developers at Sanford Health manages the infrastructure to help develop the analytical capabilities through orchestrating developers, analysts, data architects and data scientists. Her enjoyment is working in many different facets in her position while being the one of the driving forces to push Sanford Analytics to the next level. Kristi’s analytical experience is complemented with her clinical experience in Sports Medicine in Division I athletics. She continues to work in the athletic community as an Athletic Trainer for Sanford Health. She holds a B.S. in Sports Medicine from the University of Tampa and A.A.S. as a Physical Therapy Assistant from Des Plaines Community College. Outside of work she is busy with her 3 children.


Membership Director

Brookes Noem

Brookes D. Noem, Director of Information Technology for the South Dakota Foundation for Medical Care (SDFMC), has 15 years of experience as a technology professional, including more than 5 years dedicated to healthcare IT. In 2013, Brookes earned his Master of Health Informatics degree from Dakota State University, and in 2014 added the Certified Healthcare Data Analyst (CHDA) credential from the American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA). Before joining SDFMC, Brookes worked as a healthcare data analyst for DAKOTACARE, and has served as the Membership Director for the South Dakota chapter of HIMSS since September 2015.


Program Director

Maggie Jelen

Maggie is the Manager of the QA and Testing team in Information Technology at Sanford Health. Maggie has worked in the healthcare and information technology field for 19 years in a variety of roles. She has a degree in Health Information Management from Dakota State University and is currently working on an additional degree in Healthcare Administration. Maggie enjoys working in the area of integration between the application and technical IT teams within the scope of project methodology and product enhancements. She also has a vested interest in employee engagement and professional growth for her team members. In her free time, Maggie enjoys reading, cooking, and spending time outdoors and with her family.

Member at Large

Stacie Davis

Stacie Davis RN, BSN currently works as the Clinical Engagement Consultant at South Dakota Health Link. Stacie is a Registered Nurse with 11 years of clinical experience in OB/Gyn, Public Health, Internal Medicine and Family Practice. Stacie has a Bachelor of Science in Nursing and a Bachelor of Science in Health Promotion. Stacie currently works with clinical end users providing member users with individualized training specific to their current workflows and clinical/initiative needs. Stacie’s extensive clinical background and understanding of clinical practice gives her the insight to help members navigate and best utilize the health information exchange to improve both user and patient satisfaction. Stacie feels a strong commitment to increasing patient safety in South Dakota and believes that timely access to clinical data via South Dakota Health Link will help improve the quality of life for all South Dakotans.


Past President

Erica Knippling

Erica Knippling is the Clinical Informatics Specialist at Brookings Health System. In the past 10 years, she has focused her technology career in the healthcare industry. In her current role she is responsible for the design, testing, upgrading, and implementation of the Meditech System and many of its ancillary applications at BHS. She received an AAS in Marketing Management Sales from Lake Area Technical Institute and a BA in General Studies with a minor in Studio Arts from South Dakota State University. She uses this background to combine creative and technical processes bringing many unique solutions to BHS. Erica has been an active member of SDHIMSS for the past 5 years and previously served Program Director and currently in the role of President.